Home » Tips » Frosting/Icing Bag Tip

Frosting/Icing Bag Tip

I don’t know about you, but I’m not a huge fan of pipping bags, they are messy and never seem to work right for me, so I normally use Ziploc bags and cut a corner off to beautify my masterpiece :-). The only problem with the Ziploc bag is filling it with the frosting, it is a major balancing act and task in itself! I can picture myself now awkwardly trying to hold the bowl, the Ziploc bag and trying to use the spatula at the same time, to get all the frosting in the bag. Yep, you probably guessed it, about a quarter of the frosting has ended up on the counter or floor at this point!

Well, problem is solved! A little while ago I had come across this tip (on Pinterest) and man, has it saved my life! With all the baking I do, this has made things so much easier! I can’t believe how simple it is too!

Ok, so all you do is take a glass cup, place the Ziploc bag inside it (un-cut  corners), and push it as far down as it will go, then fold the Ziploc part over the sides of the glass (it should stay by itself), and then you are good to pour/scoop the frosting into the bag mess free! Pull it out, zip it up, cut a corner and go to town decorating.

Icing, Ziploc bag, glass cup & spatula

Icing, Ziploc bag, glass cup & spatula

Placing the Ziploc bag into the glass

Placing the Ziploc bag into the glass

Folding over the ziplock part

Folding over the ziploc part

Pouring the Icing into the Ziploc bag

Pouring the Icing into the Ziploc bag

Voila...Icing is in the bag and there is no mess!

Voila…Icing is in the bag and there is no mess!

No awkwardness and no mess! How easy is that! You really can use this tip for anything, other than frosting/Icing, and you can put a tip into the corner too if you wanted a nicer style. I hope this has made your life a little easier, as it has made mine!

Leave a Reply

