Home » Books » Book Review

Book Review

reading-recap-pink copy

This past weekend I finished two books, one which I really enjoyed and one which I really did not!

Audio-With Breastfeeding I have a lot of time to listen to books, and it is nice to get back to listening to audiobooks! I used to listen to them a lot at work, but I guess I just got tired of missing things. I have a love hate relationship with audiobooks! A reader can make or break a book for me and I HATE IT!! I always found myself saying I think I would like the book better if I read it…which is another huge reason why I put audiobooks on hold (and prob still would if I didn’t need to fill time hands free πŸ˜‰ )

The audiobook I recently read was Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden and shockingly I really enjoyed it, I gave it 4 stars!!! The readers weren’t bad even though the main character Chiyo’s (Sayuri’s) character sometimes annoyed me, but I guess it was more the writing then the reading!

930

Here is my short review (I kinda stink at them!): I actually enjoyed this a lot more than I thought I would, especially on Audio. The story was interesting and I loved the “twist”. At times Chiyo’s (Sayuri’s) voice was a bit annoying and repetitive when talking to men, but I easily got past it. This topic and Japanese culture is something I am very unfamiliar with and it was a nice way to learn about the custom’s and a geisha’s way of life.

Book– I have a Kindle and tend to read it more now that I have two infants because it is easier to turn a page while entertaining them :-), but I love actual books! I love looking at and watching my bookmark move, showing me how much of the book I have left and turning an actual page instead of pushing a button or swiping your finger across the screen. Call me old fashioned but I would prefer the actual book then any e reader! πŸ™‚

The book I recently read and HIGHLY DISLIKED was Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer, I gave it 2 stars (maybe a 2.5). I had high hopes for this book and was very disappointed. Mainly I was bummed with the writing style, it was very hard to follow, I may even have given it a better rating because of the story if it wasn’t for the writing.

13383474

Here is my review:Β  I really wasn’t a big fan of this book. I think I expected more, and the writing style, I really DISLIKED. Most of the time I was confused, making it very hard to follow and distinguish who was speaking at times. I am disappointed in the “story lines” I feel as though they were jumbled and in the end I felt were a let down.

What books are you all reading right now? Recommend your favorite book! I am always looking for something else, and I will try anything πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

