Home » Books » Reading Mojo!

Reading Mojo!

Yes! It seems I have gotten my reading momentum back, I guess getting the kids in to a routine gives me a little more “relax” time! Oh and I guess all the good books help a lot too! I read 7 books so far this month and am in the middle of 4 right now, 2 of which I will finish today or tomorrow!

So far I have had 1 let down, 2 ok, 3 amazing, and 1 LOVE!

reading-recap-pink copy

Let down (2.5 stars): Fragments by Dan Wells. I LOVED the first one in the series, Partials. It isn’t normally something I would pick up on my own but it was a book club choice and I loved it, so why wouldn’t I like the second one?!?! Lets just say it was a 576 page book and I was not interested until about page 350-400, a waste for half of the book! So sad…I prob won’t finish the series (yes love I CAN do that :p )

Ok (3 stars): Second Chances by Alison Stanley and Crossed by Ally Condie. Second Chances was a Christian Lit and I enjoyed the underlying theme about God’s love and second chances but it seemed a bit rushed. Crossed is ok, this series doesn’t wow me but is interesting to listen to nonetheless.

Amazing (4 stars): The Other Side of Us by Sarah Mayberry…I mean who doesn’t love a good love story, I had all the amazing feels that makes me love a book and give it 4 stars! Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevrin was a very unique book with a very interesting story that had me intrigued and held my interest! I really enjoyed it. Last was Once Upon a Time, There Was You by Elizabeth Berg and I am actually torn on this one! The story honestly was CRAP, but the feelings I had and the things this book made me think about (even though it didn’t have much to do with the main theme) had me leaning towards a higher rating. It made me think about the kind of mom and wife I want to be and to continue to be and I don’t know why but it hit a lot of emotions inside me, which is why it gets this rating!

LOVE (5 stars): One of my Nesties writes books, well a bunch do and I ALWAYS want to read them, even though they are online friends it is exciting to “know” them, plus I want to support them! So I am letting you know this, but it did NOT influence my review on this book one bit! This Novella, Make You Blush by Macy Beckett is just THAT GOOD! A little steamy and oh so amazing I loved the story, characters and pretty much EVERYTHING! I can’t wait for the next one to come out on May 6th (Make You Mine)

Have you read any good books lately? Comment and give me some recommendations! I am always up for anything (except the things A reads and wants me to read…no thanks! Love you!)

One thought on “Reading Mojo!

  1. AHH- sorry there, love. Wish Fragments was better for you.

    Unfortunately, I’m much like A (surprise, surprise) and the book recommendations I would make are probably outside your bounds. However, if you’re ever looking for a light love story that’s a bit different, I will lend you any of my Julia Quinn. I find her funny and witty, the sex scenes aren’t too blush-crazy, and the historical aspect doesn’t make you want to yawn. Plus, the book is on me 😉

Leave a Reply

